



HR

Početna stranica>Pokretanje sudskog postupka>Pravni sustav EU-a i nacionalni pravni sustavi>**Nacionalni pravosudni sustavi** National justice systems

Danska

This section provides you with an overview of the court system in Denmark

Organisation of justice - judicial systems

The Danish courts system is composed of:

The Supreme Court

The two high courts

The Maritime and Commercial Court

The Land Registration Court

24 district courts

The courts of the Faroe Islands and Greenland

The Appeals Permission Board

The Special Court of Indictment and Revision

The Danish Judicial Appointments Council and

The Danish Court Administration.

Administration of courts

The courts are administered by the **Danish Court Administration**, which was established as a new independent institution on **1st July 1999**. This body ensures the proper and adequate administration of the funds, staff, buildings and IT of the courts and the Appeals Permission Board.

The Danish Court Administration is headed by a **board of governors** and a **director**. The Danish Court Administration falls under the Ministry of Justice, but the Minister has no powers of instruction and cannot change decisions made by the Danish Court Administration.

The board of governors is the chief executive and generally liable for the activities of the Danish Court Administration. The director – who is appointed and may be discharged by the board of governors – is responsible for day-to-day management. The director is not required to hold a law degree.

The Danish Court Administration Act determines the composition of the Danish Court Administration's board of governors. The board of governors has 11 members, eight of whom are court representatives, one a lawyer and two who have special management and social insights.

Legal databases

For more information, please consult the continuously updated overview and description of the Danish judicial system.

Related Links

Civil Affairs Agency

Last update: 04/05/2022

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.