Please note that the original language version of this page French has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

National justice systems

In this section, you will find an overview of the organisation of the courts of law of Luxembourg.

There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

Organisation of justice - the judicial system

The judicial system of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is divided into a judicial branch and an administrative branch. In addition to these two branches, there is also the Constitutional Court.

Ordinary courts of law

The Constitution requires the courts and tribunals to exercise judicial power and to apply general and local orders and regulations only insofar as they comply with existing laws.

1. Ordinary courts of law

  • The Supreme Court of Justice

Positioned at the top of the hierarchy of courts in the judicial system is the Supreme Court of Justice which comprises a Court of Cassation and a Court of Appeal, plus a Supreme Prosecutor’s Office. It is in Luxembourg.

  • District courts

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is divided into two judicial districts, each with a District Court, one in Luxembourg and the other in Diekirch.

  • Justices of the Peace

There are three Justices of the Peace, one in Luxembourg, one in Esch-sur-Alzette (Luxembourg judicial district) and one in Diekirch (Diekirch judicial district).

2. Specialised courts

  • Higher Social Security Board

The Higher Social Security Board (Conseil supérieur des assurances sociales) comprises a president, advisors appointed from the judges and two delegates from the National Health Fund (Caisse Nationale de Santé - CNS).

  • Arbitration Board

The Social Security Arbitration Board (Conseil arbitral de la sécurité sociale) comprises a president and two delegates from the National Health Fund (CNS).

Courts of law within the administrative branch

The Administrative Court

The Administrative Court comprises five judges and has a single division with a bench of three judges.

The Administrative Tribunal

The Administrative Tribunal comprises ten judges and has three divisions with benches of three judges.

Legal databases

Information on the Ministry of Justice, legal professions, legislation, the courts, the prisons, citizens’ services, forms and news are available on the website of the Ministry of Justice.

Is access to the database free of charge?

Yes, access to the databases is free of charge.

Related links


Justice Portal

Courts of law within the administrative branch

Ministry of Justice

Luxembourg Government

Last update: 04/02/2015

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.


Use the form below to share your comments and feedback on our new website