Please note that the original language version of this page Dutch has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

European Case Law Identifier (ECLI)

There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

National ECLI coordinator

The national ECLI coordinator is the Council for the Judiciary (Raad voor de rechtspraak):

Country code

The country code for the Netherlands is: [NL]

Generation of national ECLIs

The ECLI was introduced in the Netherlands on 28 June 2013. An ECLI can be allocated to:

a) all judicial decisions published on the website of the Council for the Judiciary:;

b) all disciplinary decisions published on the website of the joint disciplinary authorities:;

c) all judicial decisions not published on the websites under (a) and (b) but published in magazines or databases, and judicial decisions published commercially as 'open access'. Magazine editors or database managers who wish to register their decisions can do so via the above email address;

d) all judicial decisions kept in an internal database of the Council for the Judiciary.

Regardless of whether the decision itself is published on one of the two websites referred to above, the website publishes all Dutch ECLIs, together with at least the name of the body that delivered the decision, the date of the decision and the case number. Where known, publication references are also given for any reports of the decision in journals or databases.

Dutch ECLIs are made up of the following:

  • ‘ECLI’;
  • The country code ‘NL’;
  • The court code - see under the heading ‘ECLI court codes’;
  • The year of the decision;
  • A serial number. There are two possible formats.
    • Before 28 June 2013, virtually all decisions published in the Netherlands were given an ‘LJN’ (Landelijk JurisprudentieNummer or country case number). This LJN always consisted of two letters and four figures, e.g.: ‘AB1234’. For reasons of consistency this LJN has been included as the fifth part of the ECLI code.
    • As of 28 June 2013, LJNs are no longer allocated. All decisions that are given an ECLI after that date have an ascending serial number consisting solely of figures. This may also be the case for decisions issued before 28 June 2013.

The most important court codes

The Netherlands has a large number of law courts. The codes of the most important Dutch courts are listed below.

On 1 January 2013 the organisation of the courts in the Netherlands changed significantly. Courts no longer in existence at 1 January 2013 are indicated as ‘abolished’. On 1 April 2013 there was a further change. The courts that no longer exist since that date are also indicated as 'abolished'.

Highest Courts


Hoge Raad (Supreme Court)


Parket bij de Hoge Raad (Supreme Court Public Prosecutor's Office) (Advocate-General)


Raad van State (Council of State)


Centrale Raad van Beroep (Court of last instance in social security matters)


College van Beroep voor het bedrijfsleven (Administrative court of last instance in matters of trade and industry)

Courts of Appeal


Gerechtshof Amsterdam (Amsterdam Court of Appeal)


Gerechtshof Arnhem-Leeuwarden


Gerechtshof Arnhem (abolished)


Gerechtshof Den Haag


Gerechtshof Leeuwarden (abolished)


Gerechtshof 's-Gravenhage (abolished)


Gerechtshof 's-Hertogenbosch

District courts


Rechtbank Alkmaar (Alkmaar District Court) (abolished)


Rechtbank Almelo (abolished)


Rechtbank Amsterdam


Rechtbank Arnhem (abolished)


Rechtbank Assen (abolished)


Rechtbank Breda (abolished)


Rechtbank Den Haag


Rechtbank Dordrecht (abolished)


Rechtbank Gelderland


Rechtbank Groningen (abolished)


Rechtbank Haarlem (abolished)


Rechtbank Leeuwarden (abolished)


Rechtbank Limburg


Rechtbank Maastricht (abolished)


Rechtbank Middelburg (abolished)


Rechtbank Midden-Nederland


Rechtbank Noord-Holland


Rechtbank Noord-Nederland


Rechtbank Oost-Brabant


Rechtbank Oost-Nederland (abolished)


Rechtbank Overijssel


Rechtbank Roermond (abolished)


Rechtbank Rotterdam


Rechtbank 's-Gravenhage (abolished)


Rechtbank 's-Hertogenbosch (abolished)


Rechtbank Utrecht (abolished)


Rechtbank Zwolle-Lelystad (abolished)


Rechtbank Zutphen (abolished)


Rechtbank Zeeland-West-Brabant

All court codes

A full list of Dutch court codes, in alphabetical order, is available in the Annex(73 Kb) PDF (73 Kb) NL. Bodies no longer in existence are indicated as ‘abolished’.

Last update: 17/04/2018

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.
Member States in charge of the management of national content pages are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in the light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.