Please note that the original language version of this page Lithuanian has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

National justice systems


This section provides you with an overview of the courts in Lithuania.

Content provided by:
There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

Organisation of justice. Judicial system

In Lithuania there are 56 ordinary courts and six specialised (administrative) courts.

Administration of the courts

The General Meeting of Judges (Visuotinis teisėjų susirinkimas) is the highest body of judicial autonomy, involving all judges in Lithuania.

The Lithuanian Council of Courts (Teisėjų taryba) is an executive body of judicial autonomy, composed of 23 members, which ensures the independence of the courts and judges.

The Judicial Court of Honour (Teisėjų garbės teismas) is an institution of judicial autonomy, which hears disciplinary cases against judges and judges’ petitions against defamation.

The National Courts Administration (Nacionalinės teismų administracija) seeks to ensure that the institutions of the judiciary operate effectively and helps to guarantee the independence of the courts and judges and the organisational autonomy of the courts.

Related links

Finding the competent court

Last update: 20/04/2015

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.
Member States in charge of the management of national content pages are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in the light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.