Please note that the original language version of this page Greek has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

National ordinary courts


There are courts of only two instances in the Republic of Cyprus: The Supreme Court (Ανώτατο Δικαστήριο), which rules on all appeals against judgments by a court of first instance, and the following courts of first instance: District Courts (Επαρχιακά Δικαστήρια) Assize Courts (Κακουργιοδικεία) Family Court (Οικογενειακό Δικαστήριο) Rent Control Tribunal (Δικαστήριο Ελέγχου Ενοικιάσεων) Industrial Disputes Tribunal (Δικαστήριο Εργατικών Διαφορών) and Military Court (Στρατοδικείο).

Content provided by:
There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

Ordinary courts - Introduction

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is composed of thirteen judges, of whom one is the President. The Supreme Court has the following jurisdictions:

Appellate Court

The Supreme Court hears all appeals from lower courts in civil and criminal matters. As a rule, appeals are heard by a panel of 3 judges. The hearing of the appeal is based on the record of the proceedings of the lower court (the Supreme Court only hears evidence in exceptional and very rare circumstances). In the exercise of its appellate jurisdiction the Supreme Court may uphold, vary or set aside the decision appealed from or it may order a re-trial.

Review Court

The Supreme Court has exclusive jurisdiction to hear any recourse filed against decisions, acts or omissions by persons or organs exercising administrative authority. Τhe Supreme Court may annul any executive administrative act that is in excess or abuse of power or contrary to the law or the Constitution.

Prerogative writs

The Supreme Court has exclusive jurisdiction to issue the prerogative writs of habeas corpus, mandamus, certiorari, quo warranto and prohibition.


The Supreme Court has original and appellate jurisdiction in admiralty cases. At first instance the case is heard by a single judge and on appeal the case is heard by the full bench.

Election petitions

As an electoral court, the Supreme Court has exclusive jurisdiction to hear petitions concerning the interpretation and application of electoral laws.

Constitutional matters

The Supreme Court has jurisdiction to rule on the constitutionality of any law and to resolve conflicts of power or competence which arise between the various organs of State. The Supreme Court also rules on the constitutionality of laws in connection with which the President of the Republic (Πρόεδρος της Δημοκρατίας) exercises his constitutional right of recourse.

District Courts

The District Courts have jurisdiction to hear at first instance any civil actions (with the exception of admiralty cases) and any criminal cases for offences punishable by up to 5 years’ imprisonment. There is a District Court in each administrative district of Cyprus. Cases are heard by a single judge and there is no jury.

Assize Courts

The Assize Courts only try criminal cases. As a rule, only the most serious cases where the sentence for the offence exceeds 5 years are brought before the Assize Courts. Each Assize Court is composed of 3 judges. All decisions are taken by a majority. There is no jury.

Legal databases

There is still no official legal database. There are a number of private legal databases, some of which provide subscriber services and some of which provide free access.

They contain information on court judgments and primary legislation.

Related Links

Supreme Court of Cyprus

Last update: 23/07/2019

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.
Member States in charge of the management of national content pages are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in the light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.


Use the form below to share your comments and feedback on our new website